JASS is proud to present Dark Green, the debut album from the New York/New Jersey instrumentalist & producer Ari Finkel, aka Dali Vision. Originally a student of jazz guitar at upstate New York’s SUNY Purchase, Finkel widened his horizons upon arrival to the point where his work has grown to represent a wide range of influences, accepting the musical world around him while not afraid to carve a singular path through the din of the modern composer.

The album churns and oozes character of a decidedly organic flavor – the rusty hand cranks and smashed scaffolding of “Can’t Stand” and “Red Lot” invoke the musique-concrète of Stockhausen and come as a swift kick to the head in contrast to the sweeping clouds of processed guitar in album opener “Ones Rust” or the loose, candid rhythms of “Chupacabra” & “Laid Waste”. Born out of a desire to move away from separating software-centric & hardware-centric work, Finkel recruits a small army of live instrumentation – chains of effects pedals upon effects pedals bend & mangle an assortment of synths, multiple pianos, guitars & field samples into something simultaneously distant and familiar – a twisted triumph that is as unspoiled as it is vital.

Dark Green also represents one link of a long chain of solid material coming out of the Makoshine collective – a group of friends and collaborators based out of SUNY Purchase, itself a seemingly endless factory of talent, including peers and collaborators Photay (who here provides an 8-minute workout of a remix of highlight “Thorns”), experimental mainstay Kallie Lampel, and the producer Adrian “AceMo” Mojica, who collaborates with Dali Vision under their Action Figures project, rendering the audio of forgotten VHS tapes into works of improvised sound collage.

Dark Green will be released via JASS in digital and limited-edition CD formats on November 11. The CD edition contains the bonus track “Target” and remixes from Photay and JASS’ own Atwell.

  • 1 One's Rust
  • 2 Black Stitch
  • 3 Ventriloquism
  • 4 Can't Stand
  • 5 Chupacabra
  • 6 Harlequin
  • 7 Counting Trains
  • 8 Thorns
  • 9 Red Lot
  • 10 Laid Waste
  • 11 Target (Bonus)
  • 12 Thorns (Photay Remix)
  • 13 Harlequin (Atwell Remix)

All tracks written, performed & produced by A. Finkel
Mastered by S. Lees & The Fathers at Herd Studios, Boston, MA

Disc, sleeve & front artwork by J. Rosen
Insert artwork by A. Finkel
Cover photography by A. Finkel & E. Shornstein

All rights of the owner of the recorded work reserved.
© JASS 2014

Limited CD

Limited to 100 worldwide
– Contains CD bonus track “Target” and remixes from Photay and Atwell
– Die-cut outer sleeve w/ custom screenprinted inner sleeve
– Insert w/ artwork from Dali Vision & Jay Rosen

USD $12
Released November 11 2014

Video: Chupacabra

Listen: Ventriloquism

See Also:
Dali Vision on Twitter / SoundCloud / Facebook